I recently noticed a new symbol on a line of (non-dairy, non-meat) Arab deli items produced in Minnesota, including hummous, tabouli and the like:
"Halal – Equivalent to Kosher"*
Have any of you seen this symbol or something like it? Has any legal action been taken? Opinions?
[As a side note, I called the rabbi who ‘removed’ me from the community to give him a heads up on this symbol, which appears to violate Minnesota law. This was the first contact with him that I have had in two years.]
* From Wikipedia:
The Qur’anic verse 5:5 declares that the food of the People of the Book is halaal. Many interpret this reference to imply that the dietary laws
are similar enough to (though less restrictive than) those regulating
kashrut that Muslims can consume kosher meat and other food products
when there are no halaal alternatives. Of course, kosher products that
include alcohol among their ingredients are still haraam.
In certain instances, some Islamic authorities have permitted
Muslims to rely upon kosher certification (particularly in regard to
slaughtering) when halaal food is otherwise unavailable. This view is
subject to debate, however, and is rejected by many, for a variety of
reasons. Jewish authorities do not allow reliance upon halaal
certification as a substitute for kashrut and many Islamic authorities
argue the same for kashrut certification. Islamic groups advise using
Kashrut certification only as a last resort.