Too Black For Respect?

An Ethiopian Jew is jailed with 52 other Jews in Sudan. He is a small boy, five years old, but he is beaten and tortured. Why was he in Sudan? He was escaping with his family to Israel. Israel mounts a rescue operation (still classified) and saves the 53 Jews, but brings them to Ethiopia, not Israel. The Jews wait another year in Ethiopia before finally being taken to Jerusalem.

Flash forward. This Jew is a Prisoner of Zion, just like Natan Scharansky. He suffered along with his family for promoting Zionism and Israel. There are 2,203 Prisoners of Zion now living in Israel. Most are from the former Soviet Union. But more than 15%, 369, are from Ethiopia. The problem? He’s embarrassed to show his official government-issued Prisoner of Zion I.D.

Why? Because so few people realize that there are black Prisoners of Zion, he fears being laughed at and having the whole thing treated as a joke. His face still bears scars from the beatings in Sudan. His soul bears scars from Israel’s callous treatment of true heroes with otherly-pigmented skin.

14 Comments

Filed under Ethiopian Jews, Israel

14 responses to “Too Black For Respect?

  1. Anonymous

    Here’s a lovely idea for Mr. Failed Messiah Rosenberg.

    There are two kinds of equality advocates in the secular Liberal world. The NIMBY / not in my backyarders who only love Blacks at a distance and those who commit to the ultimate Liberal act of marrying a Black melanin-endowed person that so beautifully contrasts with their White pallor.

    Is Rosenberg a bochur ? We should fix him up on shidduchim with some Falasha women. I can’t wait to see all the little junior Mulatto Failed Messiahs running around !

  2. Yos

    I’d love to be married to a Falash woman. Purge some of this tay sachs from my genes. Plus, they’re seriously hot.

  3. Yochanan Lavie

    I am a “shvartze lover” and proud of it! Not because I’m a liberal (I am conservative on almost everything except gay rights, and I am registered Independent)- but because I love human beings, esp. my fellow Jews.

    I have been deeply in love with a white woman for 20 yrs. But if I was single, I would go for a Black Jewish women in a heartbeat. Black women are sexy and smart.

    True, many libs are phonies who love Blacks only from a distance, and in a condescending way. But don’t tar all pro-Ethiopians with that brush (no pun intended).

    (Full disclosure: I live & work in racially and economically mixed neighborhoods, so I am not pontificating from some safe suburban redoubt).

  4. Yochanan Lavie

    “I can’t wait to see all the little junior Mulatto Failed Messiahs running around !”

    It’s good to see David Irving will have some racist company now that he’s out of jail.

    I dislike liberal NIMBY’s, too, but racist pigs discredit the conservative movement.

  5. Neo-Conservaguy

    “Is Rosenberg a bochur ? We should fix him up on shidduchim with some Falasha women. I can’t wait to see all the little junior Mulatto Failed Messiahs running around !”

    Have you seen any Beta Israeli women up close? They are hot stuff, pretty and smart – Shmarya should be so lucky!

  6. Nachum

    This is ridiculous. The government *issued* him the card. So who’s at fault here? We’re supposed to worry about his personal insecurities?

  7. The point is the goverment publicizes the suffering of Russian Prisoners of Zion, as do many Jewish groups worldwide. No one does this for Ethiopians.

  8. Wow. Nice folks. I hope you relize the point of this post was to show the disrespect given to the Falasha Morah in Israel and you all contiune to make racist generalizations about black people. Well done!

    Mazel Tov on your understanding and compassion for a Jew being treated like a color by fellow Jews. Right on everyone!

  9. Yos

    I aired my grievance on the actual news page. Then I came here to make my sexist comment.

  10. Isa

    This is what I see here:
    Underneath the white sheet is a six pointed star Or perhaps vice versa.
    There was some book put out by some crank ‘rabbi’ from the MPLS area about Jewish souls (from the holocaust) coming back in bodies of goyem and that is why there are so many converts these days. Hmmmm I don’t know if I believe that, BUT if it is TRUE then PERHAPS this is true. What happened to the Huns that were killed by the bommbing raids? Ever hear about the night that Hamburg died from the fire storm? Even bank vaults melted. How about the 250,000 Hun soldiers that never made it out of Stalingrad? How about all the SS troops that were shot by the Soviets? Soviets didn’t take SS prisoners generally unless they were bored and needed some ‘fun’.
    Maybe what we have here are Hun souls in Jewish bodies.

  11. Neo-Conservaguy

    Racist? Perhaps, but my observation was intended to be the opposite: the return of the Beta Israel expanded the wonderful spectrum of skin color of Am Yisrael that had previously been tilted a little too white for my liking – and I’m a fairly white (mostly Irish/Italian) kinda guy. Face it: Jewish chicks are hot, and the Beta Israeli chicks are Jewish, so there you have it. It’s a good thing.

  12. Yochanan Lavie

    Like Yos, I’m not racist, but I am sexist. In addition to bravely keeping the torch of Judaism burning in an inhospitable land, the Beta Yisrael have increased the “babe factor” in the Jewish people. Where’s the downside? 🙂

  13. Anonymous

    (Full disclosure: I live & work in racially and economically mixed neighborhoods, so I am not pontificating from some safe suburban redoubt).

    Posted by: Yochanan Lavie | December 21, 2006 at 10:17 AM

    Ya Yochi some of your best friends are huh??? How racially mixed??? Did you choose by minority composition, eeh 5 percent black ten percent hispanic, twenty five percent Phillipino, and how bout Arabs, you make sure they there as part of your
    “Im not not a bigot, look where I live and work” strumpeting? The only thing worse then someone who hates on basis of race is someone who tries to prove the opposite with fuckin self congratulatory closeted bigotry.

  14. Yochanan Lavie

    Anonymous: There are shitheads of every color, as well as good people. I don’t do numerical calculations, nor did I choose to live in a mixed neighborhood to prove how noble I am. Now, go off to your Jew Klux Klan meeting.

Leave a Reply

